Landing on my feet

First day in Santa Marta: I am completely knackered, but I love it! Apparently it rained today. I didn’t see or hear anything, but the streets were flooded when I walked home from the city, so I guess it must be true. The 22hour trip here also went really well. There was a minor glitch with immigrations, but it all worked out perfectly! I left some rather important documents in Amsterdam, but the super helpful immigrations officers went above and beyond to help 🙂 I now have a three month tourist visa

I was thrilled to find that all the streets in SM have numbers instead of names, so even I can find my way around! I feel safe and people in the streets don’t hassle me more because I’m a tourist. And it’s definitely not because they can’t tell I’m a tourist! I bring new meaning to ‘standing out in a crowd’. Though taxis keep honking at me thinking I’m lost looking for my hotel.

The hot and humid weather will take some getting used to, but so far I’ve only got three mosquito bites, so I can’t complain! I met a Californian today who hasn’t worn a shirt since he got here several weeks ago. They wont serve him food anywhere, but he still wont wear one. As a Norwegian I feel I’m pretty screwed

The family I live with is very nice! Its pretty exhausting to talk to them since they know about five english words between them, but at least that means I have no other choice but to learn

Categories: Uncategorized | 3 Comments

Post navigation

3 thoughts on “Landing on my feet

  1. Ricci

    U and ur immigrations… i wonder when u will ever learn??? 😉

  2. Gro

    Mari, jeg kan ikke tro at DU er i Colombia???? Vi var blant annet i Cartagena i fjor sommer… Såå spennende!! Såå heldig du er som får oppleve…

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

